Looked Over


The 6300 Block of Lancaster Ave
November 17, 2010, 10:04 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

For about 2 weeks out of the year, the 6300 block of Lancaster Ave. is the most amazing stretch of road in Philly. I have no idea what kind of trees are planted here, but they all turn this mesmerizing shade of bright yellow. I tried to take a picture of it with my cell phone, but it doesn’t capture a tenth of the beauty that is there. I bike through this part just as I’m leaving the city and arriving at seminary, and it always feels like I’m going through some kind of magical portal to another world. That other world is really just Wynnewood and it’s not very magical at all, but that’s just how it seeeeeeeeems. There’s an episode of Man vs. Wild where Bear Grylls comes across this beautiful flower in the middle of the jungle and says something to the effect of, “This flower is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. There are no people out here for miles and miles. This flower isn’t beautiful so that people can appreciate it. It can’t help but be beautiful. It’s beautiful just for the sake of its creator”. That’s kind of how I feel about this block. The trees don’t care that I’m there. They aren’t putting on a show or anything. They are just beautiful because that’s exactly how they were created. So if you have a spare moment in the next week, go take a drive up Lancaster Ave. and check out the magic that I’m talking about.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“This flower isn’t beautiful so that people can appreciate it. It can’t help but be beautiful. It’s beautiful just for the sake of its creator”. That is a True thing that you express. And I think that when I can get to the place where I look at us all, as beautiful expressions of God’s beauty, just for His own sake … I’ll be close to getting it right.

Comment by steve jackson




Leave a Reply

