Looked Over


America
July 4, 2010, 11:55 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Those of you who know me know that I am often pretty critical of my country. A country that was founded on the backs of slaves and the wanton extermination of its indigenous people is not something I can stand behind. I am also a Christian, and Jesus taught us that His kingdom is not of this world, so I don’t really have much stake in any earthly nation. It’s easy for me to say something anti-American today, but I will resist that temptation and find my four-leaf clover instead.

If you have not read the Declaration of Independence lately, I would suggest that you do so. Thomas Jefferson (though he was not a great man in his personal life) was a brilliant man with lofty ideals. The US has screwed up a lot and failed to live up to his dream, but could you imagine a country where everyone really believed that all people were created equal with the rights of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness? What would a country look like where people respected each other, looked out for each other, and banded together to help stem the tides of racism, sexism, and other prejudices? I could stand behind a a country that lived up to the ideals of (some) of the founding fathers. So today I will refuse to worship the US for what it has done, but I will respect it for the values it was created to protect.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

