Looked Over


Baseball
June 26, 2010, 9:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This one goes out to Abner Doubleday on his 191st birthday who allegedly invented baseball in 1839 even though he probably didn’t. This one is also partially inspired by the amazing game that Nichole and I went to last night in which the Phillies beat the Blue Jays 9-0. I’m always amazed at the reflexes of these people when I see it live. From the moment that the ball leaves the pitcher’s hand, the batter has .2 seconds to figure out the location of the pitch, the speed, and the type of pitch before deciding whether or not to swing, where to swing, and how fast. By .5 seconds, the ball is already in the catcher’s mitt (and I’m sure the catcher is secretly wincing a little bit because that HAS to hurt). It’s incredible that ANYONE has the reflexes needed to hit a major league pitcher. Yeesh. And how amazing is it that just by spinning a ball  a certain way, the pitcher can make it curve through the air like a fighter jet? I know that people often complain about how slow baseball games are, but that’s a lot of the fun for me. It’s a game of potential. At any given moment, it could go from absolutely nothing to CRAZINESS in the blink of an eye. Not to mention that it is a game that revolves around hitting a thing with a stick. So thank you to Abner Doubleday or whatever nameless chap that actually invented the sport. I’d tip my cap to you, but I’m not wearing one so I tip my metaphorical cap to you and your wonderful game with all of its strategy, reflexes, and ridiculous facial hair.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

excellent put up, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector do not realize this. You must proceed your writing. I am confident, you have a huge readers’ base already!

Comment by ramadan 2013 prayer schedule




Leave a Reply

