Looked Over


Music
June 20, 2010, 12:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was tempted to do something Father’s Day related on here but that would imply that I often overlook my dad, which would just be a rude thing to say on Father’s Day. So, instead, I’m going to talk about something that is very near and dear to my dad, music.

A couple of my friends were hanging out last night talking about how we have a hard time just sitting and listening to music without doing something else too. We don’t do that with anything else. You wouldn’t say, “I’m reading a book, so I’m going to put on my favorite movie while I read”. That’s crazy talk, but I guess we have SO MUCH music in our lives, that we are used to it being nothing but the soundtrack to our lives. I mean, I’m listening to music right now while I type and thinking nothing of it. Music itself though is fascinating. It’s just a combination of different pitches that are made by lengthening or shortening the sound wave. I wonder who was the first singer and what they thought that they were doing. Music makes us feel things that we didn’t feel before, inspires us, depresses us, and can manipulate our emotions effortlessly, but how many times have we just sat back and thought about what it really was. Just sound waves of varying lengths. At its heart, it’s very simple, but its a powerful force that is SO often overlooked. So on this Father’s Day, sing a song, hum a tune, or play an instrument, and think about how much of our lives are surrounded by these sound waves of varying lengths.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

