Looked Over


Cars
June 13, 2010, 11:21 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday, I rented a car to drive to Lancaster for my cousin’s wedding. Google Maps said that it would take me 1.5 hours by car, 7 hours by bike, and 22 hours by foot. I was curious how long it would take on horseback, but Google doesn’t have that feature (yet?). So, as I was sitting there, I was thinking about how amazing this car was. Cars have gotten a really bad reputation over the past 20 years for destroying the atmosphere and causing land to be destroyed for roads. I know that there have been plenty of negative aspects to the glut of cars on the road, but the car itself is incredible. Just think about the motor real quick. The car pumps tiny amounts of gasoline into the motor, ignites it, and then the EXPLOSION causes the piston to move, which turns the drive shaft, and makes the wheels turn. Let me reiterate that, every time that you push down on the gas pedal, you are moving forward because of hundreds of tiny explosions. Basically, I just went 71 miles in 1.5 hours, while sitting in a chair, pushing a pedal, and turning a wheel, while being sped along by thousands of explosions, and this is NORMAL! This is truly a crazy world we live in.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

why didn’t you take the train?

Comment by jane




Leave a Reply

