Looked Over


Trolleys
June 3, 2010, 7:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

My bike is currently sad and broken so I have to take public transportation to work. That means that it takes me an extra half hour and $4 everyday that my bike is in the shop. While I was riding the trolley today, it occurred to me that I was sitting inside of a metal box going about 30 miles per hour that is powered entirely by electricity. For most of human history, people have seen electricity only as the frighteningly destructive bolts that come from the clouds, but now we use it to go to work! For only $2 each way, I can sit in an air-conditioned vehicle that is powered by Zeus’ thunderbolt! Don’t even get me started on the fact that most of my commute is through a concrete tunnel that was carved underneath the city itself. And what effort did I put into it? I didn’t spend my life figuring out how to convert electricity into motion or carve out the tunnels for these metallic beasts to crawl through. Nope. All I have to do is put 2 dollars in a machine, sit down, and wait as someone else drives me to work. I can get behind that kind of awesome.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“For only $2 each way, I can sit in an air-conditioned vehicle that is powered by Zeus’ thunderbolt!”

I like it!

Comment by Marietta

And you get to read! Something almost impossible to do on a bike!

Comment by Marquita

[…] Electricity? Awesome. […]

Pingback by Screw It. I Feel Like Being an Optimist Today. | Musical Spheres




Leave a Reply

